3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 5, 2015 6:57 AM by sperry

    Design Locking Model

    Ed Blair

      Designer Designs are typically "locked" -- and available for "view only" purposes -- to all but the current Design owner.  Of course ownership can be changed from one user to another for whatever reason necessary.  Am wondering if anyone has found it helpful or useful to broaden editing rights to a larger community?  For example, in addition to the owner any user classified as an "Administrator" could open and edit the Design in addition to the design owner.

       

      Of course this would make it possible for two users to conceivably have the Design opened for editing at the same time.   Which would be possible, if not necessarily desirable, if Design versions are Public.

       

      Any thoughts/comments would be much appreciated.

       

      Thanks,

      Ed

        • Re: Design Locking Model
          Kevin Brown

          Actually, I don't think what you're asking would necessarily allow multiple users to edit at the same time.  There is a separate locking process in Process Manager that flags a session or design as being edited.  You've probably run into this if you've crashed out of ArcMap and had to use the "Unlock" task to enable editing again.

          I like your idea.  As a db admin it would have nice to be able to open a design and do conflict resolution without having to take ownership and then return ownership when done.

            • Re: Design Locking Model
              Ed Blair

              Kevin -

               

              Thanks for the reply!

               

              I'm guessing (but not sure) that the "Is design locked?" subtask within the Process Manager would need to be altered or replaced.  This thing probably just looks at the LOCKED field on MM_PX_CURRENT_STATE -- which is probably set to "1" when the design is opened and returned to "0" when its closed -- or as you mention, is left at 1 if the design session crashes.

               

              Ed

                • Re: Design Locking Model

                  Ed, we do something very similar to this with our integration from our SSP Workforce Management  product to Designer where we have both set the owning user and manipulate the locked status through a combination of the integration points and via custom subtasks that fire right before a design is opened. We both LOCK designs based on conditions in our WMS and/or unlock the design based on other conditions. So this approach would work. We don't explicitly have two folks editing at the same time as that would likely cause issues but we can pass designs around seamlessly via our WMS. Hope this helps...