3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 9, 2014 3:57 PM by James Wright

    Configuring Geodatabase Mgr --  ("Acquire Locks" -- under Version Processing).

    David Swinski

      I'm trying to find details on when to check the "Acquire Locks" box - under Version Processing in ArcFM Geodatabase Mgr.

      Is there an ArcFM Document or Tutorial that has advanced information on configuring Geodatabase Manager?   The Help document doesn't provide enough info on this and other settings.

        • Re: Configuring Geodatabase Mgr --  ("Acquire Locks" -- under Version Processing).
          James Wright

          Here is a great starting place:

           

          Configure Post Process

           

          • Acquire Locks on Reconcile: Reconcile occurs before every post to maintain data integrity. This option determines whether the process locks the parent version during reconcile. When this option is selected, users cannot connect to the version being reconciled against (e.g., SDE.Default) during reconcile. This option is off by default.
            • Re: Configuring Geodatabase Mgr --  ("Acquire Locks" -- under Version Processing).
              David Swinski

              I saw this basic info in the Help page for GDM.  But it’s not detailed enough.

               

              Is there any document that has Use Case information?   For example:  In what case would you want to “lock the parent version during reconcile and not connect to the version being reconciled against during reconcile”?

               

              We are transitioning a legacy Electric Utility GIS system (ArcFM 10.0.3) that has the “Acquire Locks” set for the 1st  GDM Service, but not for the 2nd.  We would like to know what are best practices for this setting, and actually for all settings in GDM (and in ArcFM for that matter) but I can’t find this “Admin-type” information anywhere.

                • Re: Configuring Geodatabase Mgr --  ("Acquire Locks" -- under Version Processing).
                  James Wright
                  • LOCK_ACQUIREDAcquires locks during the reconcile process. This should be used when the intention is to post edits. It ensures that the target version is not modified in the time between the reconcile and post operations. This is the default.
                  • NO_LOCK_ACQUIREDNo locks are acquired during the reconcile process. This allows multiple users to reconcile in parallel. It should be used when the edit version will not be posted to the target version because there is a possibility that the target version could be modified in the time between the reconcile and post operations.