2 Replies Latest reply on Aug 12, 2014 2:41 PM by David Miller

    Prompt user before deleting a task on the Orbit Portal

    David Miller

      When managing tasks, you can click on the X to delete a task.  This is done automatically with no prompt on if you are sure you want to do this.

       

      Can a confirmation prompt be added before you delete a task? 

        • Re: Prompt user before deleting a task on the Orbit Portal
          Kevin Saunders

          That is something that we have done for several other things on the portal and could do the same for tasks pretty easily.  However, we have wondered if the popups would be annoying if you had to delete several things in a row.  We were thinking that more of a recycle bin approach would be nicer than prompts.  We have everything in place already on the database side of things to enable this view of recently deleted things so it would just be a matter of getting the portal pages developed.  What are your thoughts between these two approaches?

            • Re: Prompt user before deleting a task on the Orbit Portal
              David Miller

              The recycle bin would be very nice compared the current "gone forever" deletion.  It would be a good stop gap until you have more robust task management functions.

               

              I still think a prompt if you are deleting a single task would be good because it is very easy to delete a task and not notice you've done so.  If you want to do a mass delete, the option to check multiple items at once and then hit a delete button (with prompt) would be preferred.